Home > About engage > Who is Engage?

About Engage

Engage is the lead advocacy and training network for gallery education.

We support arts educators, organisations and artists to work together with communities in dynamic, open exchanges that give everyone the opportunity to learn and benefit from the arts.

Join now

Who is Engage?


Engage's core team of five are based at our central office in London. Other key staff work from home or from other sites on a part-time basis, and are best reached through the main office or by email. Click here for a list of ways to get in touch

You must be logged in to see contact details/

The 12 engage staff members are:
Meg Beaumont, Office Assistant, engage
Laura Callan, Communications Officer (Maternity Cover), engage
Clive Dixon, Finance & Governance Manager, engage
Barbara Dougan, engage Journal editor
Alex Evans, Administration Officer, engage
Rose Heelas, MATERNITY LEAVE Operations Manager, engage
Ailbhe Mac Eoin, On MATERNITY LEAVE. Communications Officer, engage
Beth Moseley, MRLA Coordinator, engage
Angela Rogers, engage Cymru Development Coordinator, engage Cymru
Vicky Scott, Operations Manager (Maternity Cover), engage
Jane Sillis, Director, engage
Sarah Yearsley, engage Scotland Development Coordinator, engage Scotland


The Engage Board oversees forward strategy and management issues, advised by the Council on policy issues.

The 14 engage Board members are:
Lesley Butterworth, General Secretary, NSEAD, Chair
Sue Cambridge, Executive Director: Finance & Administration, ABRSM, Treasurer
Carol Dunbar, Education Development Officer, The Pier Arts Centre
Lisa Edgar, Education Development Manager, Ffotogallery
Eleri Wyn Evans, Learning Manager, National Museums Wales
Rob Greig, Director of the Parliamentary Digital Service, UK Parliament
Camilla Johns, Communications & Development Manager for Wiltshire Music Centre
Jacqueline Kingsley, Independent Fund-Raising Professional
Susan Lonsdale, Magistrate
Habib Motani, Lawyer, Clifford Chance, Vice Chair
Laura Sillars, Artistic Director at Site Gallery
Emma Smale, Head of Policy and Research at Action for Children
Emma Thomas
Nicholas Vogelpoel, Portfolio Development Manager in Medical Humanities, Wellcome Trust


The Engage Council focuses on reviewing and developing policy, including guidance for members, policy issues for Engage's own work, and campaigning issues to inform Engage's advocacy. Council is made up of elected Area Representatives (2 per England region; 3 each for Northern Ireland, Scotland; Wales) and Special Interest Representatives.

The 43 engage Council members are:
Anna Aroussi, Area Rep - South-West
Anna Blackman, Area Rep - London
Vicky Chapter, Aspex Visual Arts Trust, Area Rep - South-East
Rachel Craddock, National Gallery, Area Rep - London
Ros Croker, National Maritime Museum, Area Rep - London
Ros Croker, Area Rep - London
Nell Croose Myhill, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, Area Rep - East
Lhosa Daly, Spike Island Artspace Ltd, Area Rep - South-West
Joanna Essen, Compton Verney, Area Rep - West Midlands
Dr Lorraine Foreman-Peck, Special interest
Elizabeth Fraser-Betts, Orleans House Gallery, Area Rep - London
Hannah Gaunt, Royal Institute of British Architects, Area Rep - North-West
Cat Gibbard, Newlyn Art Gallery, Area Rep - South-West
Jessica Hartshorn, Rugby Art Gallery & Museum, Area Rep - West Midlands
Sue Hogan, firstsite, Area Rep - East
Maggie James, Area Rep - Wales
Emma Kerr, The Roche Court Educational Trust, Area Rep - South-East
Joanna Kori, Special interest
Gaby Lees, York Museums Trust, Area Rep - Yorkshire
Rosalind Manasseh, Area Rep - West Midlands
Jo Marsh, Oriel Wrecsam, Area Rep - Wales
Miss Jo Marsh, Area Rep - Wales
Victoria Mayes, MK Gallery, Area Rep - South-East
Miss Gina Mollett, Area Rep - East Midlands
Ms Janie Nicoll, Special interest
Miss Catherine Rachael O'Donnell, Area Rep - North-West
Rosie O'Donovan, Kettle's Yard, Area Rep - East
Caitlin Page, Fruitmarket Gallery, Area Rep - Scotland
Amanda Phillips, Leeds Museums and Galleries, Area Rep - Yorkshire
Sarah Plumb, Area Rep - South-East
Beki Pope, Area Rep - Scotland
Betty Ritchie, The Bluecoat, Area Rep - North-West
Ms Gwawr Wyn Roberts, Gwynedd Council: Museum & Arts Service, Area Rep - Wales
Mrs Janette Robinson, Yorkshire Sculpture Park, Area Rep - Yorkshire
Amanda Spruyt, Nottingham Contemporary, Area Rep - East Midlands
Mr James Steventon, Special interest
Judy Thomas, Area Rep - Northern
Iseult Timmermans, Street Level Photoworks, Area Rep - Scotland
Ms Val Tobiass, Area Rep - Northern
Kate Travers, Special interest
Alison Unsworth, Area Rep - Northern
Ms Kamina Walton, Special interest
Rachael Woodhead, Tate St Ives, Area Rep


Area Representatives

The 36 engage Area Reps are:
- Anna Aroussi
- Anna Blackman
- Vicky Chapter, Aspex Visual Arts Trust
- Rachel Craddock, National Gallery
- Ros Croker, National Maritime Museum
- Ros Croker
- Nell Croose Myhill, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts
- Lhosa Daly, Spike Island Artspace Ltd
- Joanna Essen, Compton Verney
- Elizabeth Fraser-Betts, Orleans House Gallery
- Hannah Gaunt, Royal Institute of British Architects
- Cat Gibbard, Newlyn Art Gallery
- Jessica Hartshorn, Rugby Art Gallery & Museum
- Sue Hogan, firstsite
- Maggie James
- Emma Kerr, The Roche Court Educational Trust
- Gaby Lees, York Museums Trust
- Rosalind Manasseh
- Jo Marsh, Oriel Wrecsam
- Miss Jo Marsh
- Victoria Mayes, MK Gallery
- Miss Gina Mollett
- Miss Catherine Rachael O'Donnell
- Rosie O'Donovan, Kettle's Yard
- Caitlin Page, Fruitmarket Gallery
- Amanda Phillips, Leeds Museums and Galleries
- Sarah Plumb
- Beki Pope
- Betty Ritchie, The Bluecoat
- Ms Gwawr Wyn Roberts, Gwynedd Council: Museum & Arts Service
- Mrs Janette Robinson, Yorkshire Sculpture Park
- Amanda Spruyt, Nottingham Contemporary
- Judy Thomas
- Iseult Timmermans, Street Level Photoworks
- Ms Val Tobiass
- Alison Unsworth


Scotland and Wales Development Groups

The 8 Engage Scotland Development Group members are:
Scott Byrne, General Manager, Hospitalfield Arts 
Alicia Bruce, Photographer and Arts Educator (Special interest Rep - Freelance)
Caitlin Page, Learning Programme Manager, Fruitmarket Gallery (Area Rep –Edinburgh & East Scotland)
Beki Pope - Centre Manager, Caithness Horizons  (Area Rep - Highlands)
Sarah Yearsley
, Engage Scotland Coordinator
Claudia Zeiske, Director, Deveron Arts
Carol Dunbar, Education Officer at the Pier Arts Centre in Stromness is an engage Board member and a former member of the engage Scotland Development Group. 

The 7 Cymru Development Group members are:
Lisa Edgar, Ffotogallery
Eleri Wyn Evans, National Museums Wales
Naomi Horlock, Oriel Mostyn Gallery
Maggie James, Area Rep - Wales
Gwenno Jones, Flintshire County Council
Sioned Phillips, The Gallery, Ruthin Craft Centre
Angela Rogers, engage Cymru, Staff

 Back to top













  • Home
    Terms and Conditions
    Cookie Policy
    Contact Us
  • Engage, the National Association for Gallery Education, is a charitable company limited by guarantee
  • Charity number: 1087471
    Company number: 4194208
    OSCR no. SC039719
  • Registered office:
    Rich Mix, 35 - 47 Bethnal Green Road,
    London E1 6LA