Who we are


Engage’s core team are based at our central office in London. Other key staff work from home or from other sites on a part-time basis, and are best reached through the main office by phone or by email. Contact Engage.

Engage staff members are:

  • Jane Sillis, Director
  • Leander Frogley, Executive Assistant
  • Lillie Mason, Business Development and Marketing Officer
  • Vacancy, Creative Producer
  • Angela Rogers, Engage Cymru Development Coordinator, Engage Cymru
  • Sarah Yearsley, Engage Scotland Development Coordinator, Engage Scotland


The Engage Board oversees forward strategy and management issues, advised by the Council on policy issues.

Board members are:

  • Andrew Lawson, Head of Human Resources, Shakespeare’s Globe
  • Angharad Palin, Senior Editor at Thomson Reuters (Practical Law) and Notary Public
  • Bethan Page, Arts Consultant
  • Camilla Johns, Head of Development, UK Antarctic Heritage Trust
  • Damien McGlynn, Ireland Director at Creative Lives
  • David Tubman, Associate solicitor at Clyde & Co LLP
  • Debi Banerjee, Curator for Learning at Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop
  • Emma Smale, Head of Research & Children’s Social Care at Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE)
  • Ffion Rhys, Visual Arts Curator at Aberystwyth Arts Centre / Curadur Celf Weledol Canolfan Celfyddydau Aberystwyth
  • Janie Nicoll, Visual Artist, Projects and Campaigns Manager at Scottish Artists Union
  • Julian Nettel, Consultant
  • Loveday Shewell, Arts Management Consultant, Treasurer
  • Natalie Walton, Learning and Outreach Manager, National Partners Programme, Arts Council Collection
  • Ros Croker, Senior Manager: Partnerships and Public Engagement at Royal Museums Greenwich
  • Sarah Campbell, Associate Director for Arts and Culture, University of Exeter


The Engage Council focuses on reviewing and developing policy, including guidance for members, policy issues for Engage’s own work, and campaigning issues to inform Engage’s advocacy. Council is made up of elected Area Representatives and Special Interest Representatives. View our current Area Representative vacancies.

The Engage Area Reps are:

South West

Gem Smith, Take A Part CIC

Cat Gibbard, Newlyn Art Gallery

Jo Plimmer, Bristol City Council

South East

Sarah Jarvis, Watts Gallery

Tara Page, Offset Projects

Deborah Akinkuolie


Anna Murray, National Gallery

Emily Stone, National Portrait Gallery

Helena Garcia Carrizosa, Freelance

Myriam Crété


Kate Noble, Fitzwilliam Museum

Imogen Phillips, Kettle’s Yard

North West

Hannah Gaunt, The Turnpike

Emma Curd, Tate Liverpool

Amelia Bain-McCullough, West Cheshire Museums

Kate Brundrett, Freelance and The Studio Morland

EvaD Ould-Okojie, Gallery Oldham

West Midlands

Jessica Hartshorn, Freelance

Rebecca Randle, Barber Institute of Fine Arts


East Midlands

John Whall, QUAD

Nick Owen, The Mighty Creatives


Amanda Phillips, Leeds Museums and Galleries


North East

Judy Thomas

Vicky Sturrs, Baltic


Holly Rumble, Tramway

Scotland (Edinburgh and the East)

Tracy Morgan, Fruitmarket Gallery

Scotland (Highland and Islands)

Nicole Heidtke, Templar Arts and Leisure Centre

North West Wales

Gwenllian Roberts, Artist Educator

North East Wales

Mai Thomas, Freelance artist and Creative Producer

Sian Fitzgerald, Cultural Services, Denbighshire County Council

South Wales

Louise Tolcher-Goldwyn, Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre

Mid Wales

Antony Mottershead, Creative Director at Sidney Nolan Trust

Special interest: Freelance

Joanna Kori, Artist & Digital Learning Consultant

Janie Nicoll, Freelance

Special interest: Digital

James Steventon

Special interest: Diversity

Kamina Walton, Creative Director

Special interest: Research and Evaluation

Marina Castledine, Creative Learning Consultant

Scotland and Wales Development Groups

The 8 Engage Scotland Development Group members are:

  • Lee McCulley, Adult Learning Officer, National Museums Scotland
  • Janie Nicoll, Freelance Artist/Arts Educator (Special interest Rep – Freelance, Engage Board Member)
  • Tracy Morgan, Community Engagement Manager, Fruitmarket Gallery (Area Rep — Edinburgh & East Scotland)
  • Nicole Heidtke, Lead Artist/Arts Programmer, Templar Arts and Leisure Centre
  • Holly Rumble, Freelance Arts Educator, (Area Rep — Glasgow & West Scotland)
  • Kirin Saeed, Freelance Disability Equality Trainer
  • Sarah Yearsley, Engage Scotland Coordinator

The 9 Engage Cymru Development Group members are:

  • Lisa Edgar, National Museum of Wales
  • Gwenno Jones, Freelance
  • Angela Rogers, Engage Cymru, Staff
  • Mai Thomas, Area Rep — Wales
  • Grace Todd, National Museums of Wales
  • Thomas Goddard, Artist
  • Sian Fitzgerald, Denbighshire County Council, Area Rep — Wales
  • Jane Sillis, Engage, Staff
  • Jo Marsh, Arts Lead, Wrexham County Borough Council
  • Louise Tolcher-Goldwyn, Senior Education Officer, Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre